Bathurst 12 Hour

Menstuff® has information on the Bathurst 12 Hour Race.

Holden Fields Two Astras In the 2007 Bathurst 12 Hour

Holden will field two Astras in this year's WPS Bathurst 12-Hour Showroom Showdown, an Astra SRi Turbo Coupe and an Astra CDTi Diesel

The second Astra – a pink Astra CDTi Diesel – will be driven by some of Australia and New Zealand’s leading female drivers, Leanne Tander, Lauren Gray, Samantha Reid and Christina Orr and compete in the Alternative Energy Diesel/Hybrid Eco Class 9 for vehicles under 3.5 litres.

The Bendon Lingerie Astra CDTi Diesel all-girl Bathurst 12 Hour line-up, from left-right - Lauren Gray, Samantha Reid, Leanne Tander, Christina Orr

“Astra has been a proven race winner in Europe on numerous occasions and here is a chance to promote the diesel package, complete with pink livery, Bendon Lingerie sponsorship and four of the best female drivers available.

At 26 years old, Tander is the most experienced of the girls; Tander and Reid having with limited experience at Mount Panorama, while Gray has never raced on the spectacular circuit, while New Zealander Orr has never been to Bathurst.

Tander and Gray, who race in the Australian Formula 3 Championship, have previous tin top experience, while Reid and Orr have only driven open wheelers in the past – Reid in Formula Ford and Orr in FF and Formula Toyota.

“Holden has been able to assemble a very good group of women drivers; all are very good in their own categories,” Tander said.

“The first rule of motor racing is to beat your team-mates and, of course, we want to beat the guys in their Astra.

“Our main goal is to finish the race. If we can do that we will surprise a lot of people as the Astra CDTi Diesel has the advantage of not needing to stop as often.”

Practice for the WPS 12-Hour Showroom Enduro begins at Mount Panorama on Friday morning, with the race starting at 5.45am Easter Sunday (8 April).

*    *    *

Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement
Menstuff® Directory
Menstuff® is a registered trademark of Gordon Clay
©1996-2019, Gordon Clay