Menstuff® has information on Parental Consent.
Parental Consent: Which State Allows
12 year olds to Marry With Parental Consent. Hint: It Starts
with an "M". Which state has no minimum age limit?
Parental Consent - Abortion
Parental Consent: Which State
Allows 12 year olds to Marry With Parental Consent. Hint: It
Starts with an "M". Which state has no minimum age limit?
a. What state has no age limit - California
b. What state requires girls to be 13 - New Hampshire. (The boy must be 14).
c. And what state, that starts with an "M", allows 12 year old girls and 14 year old boys to marry? Massachusetts.
Furthermore, there are seven states that allow younger girls to
marry with parental consent.
Parental Consent - Abortion
The chart below shows the current situation for each state (last updated on 7/2007). There is also information on state law makers that may be trying to change the law, which can happen at anytime. You can find detailed information on your reproductive rights and monthly reports on Parental Consent/Notification laws at the website for the Alan Guttmacher Institute .
If you are thinking about an abortion and live where there is a Parental Consent/Notification law, it's a good idea to call a clinic in your state (or the Abortion Hotline at 1-800-772-9100) and talk with someone about your options. Usually you can get around telling your parents by going to a clinic in a state without these restrictions or, explaining your situation to a judge (this is called Judicial Bypass ). But this can take time, so call right away.
Parental Consent Laws are enacted on a state by state basis. They can be fought state by state too, so get involved with your local Abortion Rights organizations.
State Status Comments
Alaska NONE PN law stopped by court
California NONE PC law stopped by court
Delaware PN applies only to girls under 16 years old; notice may also be to grandparent or counselor; doctor can bypass
Idaho PC PC law is back as of March 2007
Illinois NONE PN law stopped by court. Still stopped!
Iowa PN also allows consent of grandparent instead
Maryland PN doctor can bypass
Montana NONE PN stopped by court
Nevada NONE PN stopped by court
New Hampshire NONE PN law stopped by court
New Jersey NONE PN law stopped by court
New Mexico NONE PC law stopped by court
New York NONE
North Carolina PC also allows consent of grandparent instead
North Dakota PC2
Oklahoma PN & PC Law requiring both started 11/2006
Rhode Island PC
South Carolina PC Women under 17 years old; also allows for consent of grandparent
South Dakota PN
Texas PC Law since 10/99 Thanks to Gov. George W. Bush
Utah PN & PC
Virginia PC also allows consent of grandparent instead
West Virginia PN doctor can bypass
Wisconsin PC also allows other family members over 25 to consent; doctor can bypass
Legend: PC = Parental Consent; PN = Parental Notification; NONE = No PC or PN are required now; 2 = Both parents required