Formula TR

Menstuff® has compiled the following information on Formula TR.


Formula TR Pro Series History

Formula TR Pro Series was formed in 2004 bringing to the racing industry a chance for drivers as young as fourteen years old to move from karting or sports racing into a more professional level of open-wheeled racing.

In conjunction with National Auto Sports Association and Paladin Motorsports, Formula TR Pro Series manages a comprehensive trackside support organization for the competing teams and drivers.

The 2005 schedule included some of the most challenging tracks on the West Coast such as, Portland International Raceway, California Speedway, and Phoenix International Raceway. It is the philosophy of Formula TR to limit the series to the west coast, thus allowing more drivers to begin their racing career early.

Formula TR utilizes the combination of a high tech carbon fiber Tatuus chassis, the Sadev transmission and a reliable race proven Renault Motor. The series offers two classes to compete, the FTR 1600 and the FTR2000, bringing to the drivers an opportunity to go from 125hp in the FTR1600 to 190 hp in the FTR2000. This affords the abilitiy to take the steps necessary for the driver to develop exceptional car control and advanced driving techniques. According to Telo Steward, owner of the World Speed Motorsports, " Formula TR uses the best car for young drivers to make the transition from karting to racecars".

Formula TR Pro Series, scheduled sixteen race Championship, has its own points and prize schedule for each class. Colin Braun captured the 2004 Championship for the FTR2000 class and Marco Andretti was awarded the FTR1600 Championship. The success of the Formula TR Series in the developing exceptional drivers is evident with the success of the three 16-year-old drivers from Team 16 of the 24 Hours of Daytona. They all began their auto-racing career with Formula TR Series. From a professional race engineer, Jeff Braun, "Formula TR is without question the best path for young drivers where they can compete in a series well run with the emphasis on preparing them for the next step up the ladder".


California Speedway
March 11 Round 1
March 12 Round 2

Buttonwillow Raceway Park
April 08 Round 3
April 09 Round 4

Willow Springs Raceway
May 06 Round 5
May 07 Round 6

Miller Motorsports Raceway
May 20 Round 7
May 21 Round 8

Reno-Fernley Raceway
June 24 Round 9
June 25 Round 10

California Speedway
July 15 Round 11
July 16 Round 12

Portland International Raceway
July 20 Round 13
July 21 Round 13
July 22 Round 13
July 23 Round 13

Thunderhill Park
August 12 Round 14
August 13 Round 15

Buttonwillow Raceway Park
September 16 Round 16
September 17 Round 17

Las Vegas Motor Speedway - Outside
October 14 Round 18
October 15 Round 19

COO: Steve Henry E-Mail, Patty Halloran E-Mail, Formula TR Pro Series, 1919 W. Coronet Ave.#177, Anaheim, CA 92801 or 714.774.0642 or Fax 714.774 .2182 or

*    *    *
©1996-2019 by of Gordon Clay